top of page
  • Writer's pictureCCHS Cowpoke

What Journalism is to Me

BY EMILY MORENO

When I was younger, I loved watching superhero movies and reading comics. I would watch movies about Superman and Spiderman, they would all have a common thread, a smart newspaper reporter by their side. These strong women would help their heroes save the world and write world-changing stories. I would be in awe of the work these women did from interviewing victims and highlighting their stories to searching for the truth despite it being a dangerous task. Of course, I wanted to be like these women, especially if it came with the perk of dating a superhero. Thanks to my extremely nerdy superhero-filled childhood, deciding my future career would be an easy decision.

Obviously, real journalism usually doesn’t include fighting aliens with your superhero boyfriend (despite wishing it did) but it’s still as exciting and important to society. This year I’ve been able to get a taste of real journalism as part of the CCHS Newspaper, The Lariat. At The Lariat, my interviewing, writing and editing skills have become exponentially stronger. Throughout the year I’ve written a multitude of articles, each allowing me to grow these skills and have the first-hand experience of being a reporter. Being involved in The Lariat has not only allowed me to work on my craft but become a leader and join our little news family. Our staff is made up of incredible writers and photographers who’ve made working with them the highlight of my school year. Having been promoted to Head Editor earlier in the year I’ve been able to get a taste of what it’s like to be a leader at a newspaper. Being a writer and editor for The Lariat only reassured me of my future in journalism as I felt at home in the chaotic peace of our newsroom.

A pen and paper is a powerful weapon against unseen problems and I believe journalists have a responsibility to use their writing to make sure that the public is informed. As a student journalist, I am dedicated to informing students about what's really going on at our school. Providing students with cold hard facts and not being afraid to ask difficult questions is what student journalism is all about. I’ve always been incredibly passionate about helping people through volunteer projects and small helpful acts but journalism gives me the power to make that change on a larger scale. Being a student journalist has only rekindled the passion that I have for writing and challenging the people and organizations in charge. As I learned more about journalism I realized that the real superhero wasn’t the guy with the powers but the strong reporter that stood by his side.


27 views0 comments
bottom of page